the ultimate convenience

the ultimate convenience?

 the ultimate convenience

really? read on…

These are the kinds of things you notice with your third kid. With the first I was all uptight. The third? not so much. While changing Silas, who is 5 months old…I noticed this.

This is just crazy, I begin reading the package on the Kirkland “Signature” Baby Wipes (from Costco of course!)…and the description on the back is just incredible. I promise you I am not making any of this up:

Kirkland Signature Premium Baby Wipes are made with a thick, quilted, real cloth material that contains pure cotton. They are extremely soft, exceptionally strong and very gentle against your baby’s delicate skin. And, the handy dispensing package offers the ultimate convenience, so you can take it with you anywhere!

I didn’t know where to begin so I started with doubt. Pure cotton? Real cloth material? Amazing, and they’re disposable! We have come so far. So doubt leads me to check the ingredients. I read on and this is part of what I find:

Water, Aloe Barbadenesis Leaf Juice, Cocoamphodiacetate, Citric Acid, 2-bromo-2-nitropropane-1

Just as I suspected, no mention of pure cotton. And now I’m worried…what is this nitropropane? That sounds dangerous, really dangerous, and painful – especially considering where these “real cloth” wipes get used. I’m just brimming with fear now. But I totally get the leaf juice, that’s a tradition dating way back. Leaves are the original Charmin. I’m totally cool with the leaf juice.

Then I read the last warning/suggestion…

Store at room temperature. Do not flush.

Ok, wait a minute. I’ve been flushing these “real cloth” wipes all along. I think I’m ok on the room temperature thing, but the flushing thing – not so.

But “real cloth” wipes are the ultimate convenience. As for convenience, it doesn’t get better than this. We in the west have perfected convenience – and here it is in its glory.

If you read this ridiculous post – you have to respond to this question. What’s your favorite convenience? Can you give it up?

7 Responses to “the ultimate convenience”


  1. 1 ben October 8, 2007 at 9:13 am

    the internet…no.

  2. 2 Brian October 8, 2007 at 8:43 pm

    I’d have to say the ultimate convenience is the convenience store. We have these stores in Kansas City called Quik Trip and these people must have invented to word convenience. I can’t do without a daily trip to Quik Trip.

  3. 3 Terry Foester October 8, 2007 at 9:17 pm

    yeah, unfortunately it’s difficult to avoid the internet even for a day. maybe that’s what we should fast from.

    Quik Trip, nice! We don’t have those around here, but we do have WaWa. I know it’s a strange name, but they are awesome.

  4. 4 Libby October 8, 2007 at 9:24 pm

    Okay… I’m guilty of this specific “ultimate convinience”. Baby wipes are seriously overused in our household. They are the wonder product, capable of cleaning any possible mess that 3 kids ages 5 and under can create. I’m not giving them up… ever.

  5. 5 Terry Foester October 9, 2007 at 10:11 am

    yeah, really there is no limit to the use of a baby wipe. i’m glad i wasn’t a parent in the middle ages – that would not have been cool.

  6. 6 Beth Evans October 12, 2007 at 11:10 pm

    I don’t think I could live without my Baby Wipes either. However, I have never tried to flush them. If they were flushable, then they would be the ultimate convenience! I also am pretty hooked on my Dust Buster Hand Vac. I know Libby can relate to this one. The third would have to be cottonelle “flushable” wipes. I don’t know how I ever lived (cleanly, that is!) without them – ha…ha…!

  7. 7 Terry Foester October 15, 2007 at 9:58 am

    Beth – I agree. We taught Eli and Eden how to use our Dust Buster. That was a good find for you and Lib at the outlets!


Leave a comment




author – Terry Foester

I'm a family man at heart. I admit my world revolves around my wife Libby and our 3 hooligans...Eli, Eden and Silas. They are easy to love. I'm trying to learn to love the rest of you. I also like to ask questions.

Give Herman One Dollar

Greylias Worship
Add to Technorati Favorites

Search the Bible

YouVersion.com Add this form to your site